On knowing who you are

You know in life we all get to that point when we seem to have lost our direction or why we are even on earth. We ask ourselves “what is my purpose?”, “what am I to do with my life?” Or sometimes, “who am I?”

Who am I? Is a powerful question and one that seems to never get fully answered. We may get some answer that gives us temporary relief but deep down we know we are still searching.
I have always known finding ones self is rooted in finding God and as I read this poem by Russell Kelfer, it helped me appreciate who I am and love me even more.
It says:

You are who you are for a reason.
You are part of an intricate plan.
You are a precious and perfect unique design, called God’s special woman or man.

You look like you for a reason.
Our God made no mistake.
He knit you together within the womb,
You are just what he wanted to make.

The parents you had we’re the ones he chose,
And no matter how you feel, they were custom-designed with God’s plan in mind,
And they bear the Master’s seal.

No, that trauma you faced was not easy.
And God wept that it hurt you so; but it was allowed to shape your heart so that into his likeness you’d grow.

You are who you are for a reason,
You have been formed by the Master’s rod.
You are who you are, beloved,
Because there is a God!

I hope these words have touched a life out there and helped you get a step closer towards appreciating your life and understanding why you are the way you are.
Remember you are not an accident but you were created for a beautiful purpose.

Leave a Reply

