Steve Jobs

Steve Jobs

How does one begin to write about a man like Steve Jobs. Till this moment I am still trying so hard to accept the fact that he is no more, hoping it is an error and just rumors flying fast as usual.

As I type these words to you on my MacBook Pro, I am lost for words and doubt if I can articulate my words properly. Steve was an exceptional man and a CEO like no other. He have gave us things we never thought we needed and changed the world of tech forever. I can’t begin to explain to you how I can’t live without my iPhone. It’s so bad that I find it hard to use some other phone and desperately have to get an iPhone.

Some people should not be allowed to die and I can confidently say, Steve should be one of them

He has forced us to think and dream big. He has proven to us that where the mind goes, the body will definitely follow and as humans, the only bounds that exists are the ones we create.

As I re-watch the commencement speech he gave at Standford back in 2005 for the nth time since it was released, I can’t help but notice and marvel at how clearly he thought and sees what the rest of us refuse to see or neglect.

He talked about death in such a way that forces you to realize that the only thing that is going to matter at the end of the day is the footprints you leave behind. The dent you make on the universe. The lives you have touched. The good you have done and that all the embarrassment of failure, external expectations and pride all falls away in the face of death leaving only what is most important.

It is so so amazing how one man was able to dream the future, nurse that dream and make it a reality for everyone of us in such a short period of time.

iPhone

I don’t know any other person that has been able to disrupt various industries and take over those industries like he did. First with iTunes, then the iPod, next the iPhone and now the iPad.

I remember one of the Apple press events when he talked about dreaming and creating a Jetson’s kind of life for us. Boy, if he had the chance we will definitely live it.

Thank you Steve, for being the man that you were, for having a clear vision and sticking to it till the end. For showing us that whatever we desire can be ours if only we stay persistent.

Thank you for giving us such wonderful products that have changed our lives in ways we could not imagine. (Now my 1st gen iPhone should really get framed 🙂 ) Thank you also for the wonderful and heart warming animations from Pixar (Toy Story, Wall-E, Finding Nemo, Up… the list goes on). Your legacy lives on.

So in the words of one of the greatest man I know and admire, I leave you with my favorite quote from his 2005 Stanford speech that stuck with me from the first time I watched it, “Stay hungry, stay foolish.”

Love what you do if you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, don’t settle. Follow your heart

Rest in Peace Steve Jobs

Leave a Reply

