Shopping Fix

I love retail therapy but sometimes things do not go according to plan. I get home, sort out the items I got and then I realize that it does not go with anything I already own or I can’t seem to find anything to pair it up with to create a new or creative look and so, I end up been frustrated, having a wardrobe of clothes I never wear and saying to myself, ‘I have nothing to wear! S-c-r-e-a-m!’

On my quest to fix a whole lot of things, I have decided I need a wardrobe/shopping fix (works for sales shopping too). Thankfully, I found an article on Shine-Yahoo on how to tackle this 🙂

1. Follow the Rule of Three.

Don’t buy anything, ever, that won’t work with at least three other pieces in your closet. This goes for dresses and shoes as well. Even a trendy piece can be a useful addition to your wardrobe if it goes with what you already own. But if you’re going to have to buy something later to wear with this piece you’re buying now, it’s not really a deal, even if the price has been slashed down to virtually nothing.

2. Resist temptation.

Never buy anything on sale that you wouldn’t pay full price for. I realize that there are lots of pieces that are only feasible once they go on sale, but you get the idea: don’t buy something solely because of the price. If a hot pink micro-mini isn’t you at $75, it’s still not going to be you at 75% off.

Sometimes, some pieces look so pretty on the rack but it doesn’t really suit your body type. This is a good time to ignore the piece and look out for something that works better on you or better yet, wait till a new set of clothes arrive at the store.

3. Focus on basics.

The sale rack often consists largely of trendy pieces with a short shelf life. If you’re really watching your budget, skip those (although the sale rack is a good place to pick up trendy items, if you’re interested in that, since you won’t pay much for them). To get the most for your money, look for classic pieces that you can wear across seasons or last you for 2/3 of the same season.

Source: Foolproof Tricks For Sale Shopping

4. Style Guide.

This is a technique I intend to start using. It is especially effective for people like me who get overwhelmed in big stores or stores with lots of options. Because, I feel I may miss out on something, I end up walking through every aisle or section of the store just to make sure I have seen it all and I did not miss anything.

To ease the stress, help me focus and prevent me from buying things I cannot figure out how to pull off, I will use a style guide. This is like a scrap book of styles I like and would like to try out, outfit combinations of pieces I see on the Internet and people around me that I already own and most importantly, tried and tested styles I know work best for me.

Can’t wait for my next trip to the mall! 🙂

Leave a Reply

