Soundtrakz

I’m not really into music. I barely know the names of the most recognizable pop stars and I know even fewer faces. But like any other (well, most other) humans, I do enjoy music. And across various genres. However the genre I listen to the most is Movie Soundtracks. I’m not talking about our Nollywood and Ghallywood (seriously, whoever came up with that ugly term should be jailed for disturbing the peace or indecent exposure or some related charge) movies which just use pop culture songs on loop. I must admit of late things have taken a step up. Of course, this is based on my extensive statistical research of about 30 minutes of different Ghanaian and Nigerian movies over the last year, so don’t question my conclusions. I got home after work one evening and the TV was on in the hall with a Nigerian movie on. I headed straight for my room but something felt good, in an odd way. After about 5 minutes I figured it out. The movie was using the soundtrack for the movie Gladiator (one of my favourites). I’d be surprised if any royalties were paid.

Ok so switching our focus back to original movies soundtracks, the ones I like most are the scores written by composers specifically for the movie. They are usually without lyrics and are meant to reflect the theme of the movie at that point. In fact if you get the complete score of a movie, you can sort of tell how the movie goes in terms of the highs and lows. It’s happened to me with the soundtrack to Angels and Demons which I got before I watched the movie.

Considering the effort put in by the score writers, it’s little surprise they end up being so good. If you do get a chance, check out any music by some of these composers Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, James Horner, Steve Jablonsky, John Williams…there are just so many.

So listed below is a random selection of ten of my favourite soundtracks. These aren’t my top ten, just a selection of ten out of the many. I wish I could link them to actual files so you could download and listen but my Internet connection is not capable of such feats of uploading. Shouldn’t be hard to get these from elsewhere though.

1. Arrival to Earth – Steve Jablonsky – Transformers

2. I’m Not A Hero – Hanz Zimmer & James Newton Howard – The Dark Knight

3. Ibelin – Harry Gregson-Williams – Kingdom of Heaven

3. Now We Are Free – Hans Zimmer – Gladiator

4. The Ludlows – James Horner – Legends of the Fall

5. 503 – Hans Zimmer – Angels & Demons

6. The Little Clownfish from the Reef – Thomas Newman – Finding Nemo

7. A Hero Comes Home – Alan Silvestri – Beowulf

8. A Kaleidoscope of Mathematics – James Horner – A Beautiful Mind

9. The Jablonsky Variations on a Theme by Hz/Cameroon Border Post – Steve Jablonsky – Tears of the Sun

10. The Breaking Of The Fellowship – Howard Shore – The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

Hope you are able to find these and enjoy. If you have any you would recommend, do share. I’m always on the look out for more.

Add to FacebookAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

